ôô

Color Idioms

By
Bonnie Mills, Writing for,
Episode #493
color idioms

References

1. Dictionary.com. “Red-handed.” http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/red-handed?s=t. Accessed November 18, 2015.

2. The Free Dictionary. “Catch red-handed.” http://idioms.thefreedictionary.com/catch+red-handed. Accessed November 18, 2015.

3. The Phrase Finder. “Caught red-handed.” http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/caught-red-handed.html. Accessed November 18, 2015.

4. Mental Floss website. “Where Did the Phrase 'Caught Red Handed' Come From?” http://mentalfloss.com/article/33503/where-did-phrase-caught-red-handed-come. Accessed November 18, 2015.

5. Dictionary.com. “White-livered.” http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/white-livered. Accessed November 18, 2015.

6. wiseGEEK website. “What are the Four Humors?” http://www.wisegeek.org/what-are-the-four-humors.htm. Accessed November 18, 2015.

7. GreekMedicine.net. “The Four Humors.” http://www.greekmedicine.net/b_p/Four_Humors.html. Accessed November 18, 2015.

8. Your Dictionary. “White-livered.” http://www.yourdictionary.com/white-livered. Accessed November 18, 2015.

9. The Free Dictionary. “Tickled pink.” http://idioms.thefreedictionary.com/tickled+pink. Accessed November 18, 2015.

10. The Phrase Finder. “Tickled pink.” http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/tickled-pink.html. Accessed November 18, 2015.

11. Handinhandparenting.org. “Tickling kids can do more harm than good.” http://www.handinhandparenting.org/article/tickling-kids-can-do-more-harm-than-good/. Accessed November 18, 2015.

12. U.S. Department of State Office of the Historian website. “Milestones: 1866-1898.” https://history.state.gov/milestones/1866-1898/yellow-journalism. Accessed November 18, 2015.

13. Encyclopedia Brittanica website. “Yellow journalism.” http://www.britannica.com/topic/yellow-journalism. Accessed November 18, 2015.

14. The Free Dictionary. “Rosy.” http://www.thefreedictionary.com/rosy. Accessed November 18, 2015.

15. wiseGEEK website. “What are Rose-Colored Glasses?” http://www.wisegeek.com/what-are-rose-colored-glasses.htm. Accessed November 18, 2015.

16. Merriam-Webster website. “Rose-colored glasses.” http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/rose-colored%20glasses. Accessed November 18, 2015.

17. io9.com. “Thousands Of Chickens Once Wore Eyeglasses To Stop Them Killing Each Other.” http://io9.com/thousands-of-chickens-once-wore-glasses-to-stop-them-ki-1700343874 Accessed November 18, 2015.

18. Dictionary.com. “Green with envy.” http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/green-with-envy. Accessed November 18, 2015.

19. Sensationalcolor.com. “Turning Green With Envy.” http://www.sensationalcolor.com/color-meaning/color-words-phrases/green-with-envy-2109#.VlJgEnarTIU. Accessed November 18, 2015.

20. wiseGEEK website. http://www.wisegeek.com/what-does-it-mean-to-be-green-with-envy.htm. Accessed November 18, 2015.

21. Encyclopedia Brittanica website. “Black humour.” http://www.britannica.com/topic/black-humor. Accessed November 18, 2015.

22. Dictionary.com. “Black humor.”  http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/black-humor. Accessed November 18, 2015.

23. The Art Bin. “A Modest Proposal.” http://art-bin.com/art/omodest.html. Accessed November 18, 2015.

Pages

About the Author

Bonnie Mills, Writing for Grammar Girl

Bonnie Mills has been a copyeditor since 1996.

The Quick and Dirty Tips Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.