Is Whey Protein Lactose Free?

Many people with mild lactose issues tolerate whey protein powder just fine. If you don't here are two alternatives.

Monica Reinagel, MS, LD/N, CNS
1-minute read

Q. I'm interested in adding whey powder to my diet to boost my protein intake but am not sure if it will cause digestive issues. I am mildly lactose intolerant and can eat yogurt and kefir without a problem but sometimes drinking milk gives me trouble. What do you think?

A. Regular whey protein powder does contain some lactose but if you can tolerate the amount of lactose in a serving of yogurt or kefir, the amount you’d get from a scoop of whey protein may not be a problem for you.

Many people with mild lactose issues find that they tolerate whey protein powder just fine. But if you wanted to err on the side of caution, you coiuld spend just a little bit more and buy a whey protein isolate. These more concentrated powders are virtually lactose free and they are also even a bit higher in protein than regular whey protein. Soy protein powder is another lactose-free option.

See also: How to slow age-related muscle loss  and New Ways to Use Whey Protein

Have a question like this one? Head over to the Nutrition Diva Facebook page and ask me!

About the Author

Monica Reinagel, MS, LD/N, CNS

Monica Reinagel is a board-certified licensed nutritionist, author, and the creator of one of iTunes' most highly ranked health and fitness podcasts. Her advice is regularly featured on the TODAY show, Dr. Oz, NPR, and in the nation's leading newspapers, magazines, and websites. Do you have a nutrition question? Call the Nutrition Diva listener line at 443-961-6206. Your question could be featured on the show.