ôô

Gluten-Free Grains

By
Monica Reinagel, MS, LD/N, CNS

Quick Tip: Gluten-Free Grains

Celiac disease is an intolerance to gluten, a protein found wheat, rye, and barley. For those with the disease, consuming these grains can cause serious digestive distress and nutrient deficiencies. Celiac is thought to affect about one in every 250 people, but the vast majority of people with the condition don’t realize they have it. It can usually be diagnosed (or ruled out) with a blood-test and/or biopsy.  

People with celiac need to completely avoid sources of gluten. Fortunately, there are lots of delicious gluten-free grains and a growing number of available gluten-free products. Rice, kasha, millet, and quinoa are popular options for those who avoid gluten.

Image courtesy of Shutterstock

About the Author

Monica Reinagel, MS, LD/N, CNS

Monica Reinagel is a board-certified licensed nutritionist, author, and the creator of one of iTunes' most highly ranked health and fitness podcasts. Her advice is regularly featured on the TODAY show, Dr. Oz, NPR, and in the nation's leading newspapers, magazines, and websites. Do you have a nutrition question? Call the Nutrition Diva listener line at 443-961-6206. Your question could be featured on the show. 

The Quick and Dirty Tips Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.